DWD Awards Work Ethic Certificate Grant to Scott County School District 2

The following news story appeared on InsideIndianaBusiness.com:

choosescott2INDIANAPOLIS –The Indiana Department of Workforce Development has awarded nearly $600,000 to 18 recipients throughout the state. The grants will integrate with the Governor’s Work Ethic Certificate program, which seeks to address the employability skills gap.

The DWD says the recipients may use the funds, ranging between $20,000 and $55,000, to develop programs that teach students the importance of employability skills local employers are seeking. The programs are a collaboration among employers, local school districts and career centers.

“Hoosier employers routinely cite employability skills as the most challenging characteristics to find in applicants and new hires,” said DWD Commissioner Steven Braun. “The Governor’s Work Ethic Certificate program is designed to provide Hoosier employers with a pipeline of workers with a proven work ethic and assist Indiana communities in closing the skills gap.”

The DWD says the 18 recipients will implement their pilot programs during the 2017-2018 academic year. Recipients must also develop a “Train the Trainer” plan help neighboring school districts replicate the program in their communities.

The recipients include:

  • Bartholomew Consolidated School Corp./C4 Columbus Area Career Connection – $35,000
  • Beech Grove City Schools – $40,000
  • Center of Workforce Innovations Inc. on behalf of the Northwest Indiana Workforce board – $55,000
  • Central Nine Career Center – $40,000
  • Elkhart Community Schools – $36,000
  • Fairfield Community Schools – $25,000
  • Genesis: Pathways to Success – $20,000
  • Grow Southwest Indiana Workforce Board Inc. – $50,000
  • Hoosier Hills Career Center – $40,000
  • Lebanon Community School Corp. – $35,000
  • Logansport Community School Corp. – $30,000
  • Madison Consolidated School Corp. – $15,000
  • New Castle Career Center – $35,000
  • Portage Township Schools – $25,000
  • Scott County School District 2 – $29,000
  • Spencer-Owen Community Schools – $20,000
  • Westview School Corp. – $25,000
  • White County Schools Collaborative – $35,000

You can learn more about the Governor’s WEC Program by clicking here.